Skip navigation

Membership of the Court University of Greenwich

List of membership of the Court 2017 - 2018.

Independent Members (12)

Sir Simon Gass (Vice-Chair of Court)

Former Director General Political, Foreign Commonwealth Office and a senior and experienced diplomat.  Previously British Ambassador to Iran and Greece and has held a variety of diplomatic appointments in Afghanistan, South Africa, Italy and Nigeria. 

1st term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2019

Peter Hazell

Formerly Chairman of Argent Group PLC (property developers).  Non Executive Directorships at Axa UK, Axa Ireland, Smith & Williamson Holdings Limited and Canopius Managing Agents. 

3rd term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2019.

Bronwyn Hill CBE

Non Executive Director at the Office for Nuclear Regulation.  Former Permanent Secretary, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.   

1st term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2019

Marianne Ismail (Chair of Court)

Previously a Managing Director of Morgan Stanley and Head of Private Wealth Management for EMEA, CEO of Global Wealth Management Europe at Citi and Head of Private Banking, Europe, Middle East and Africa at Standard Chartered.  Owns her own consultancy firm.  Non Executive Directorships at Town and Country Housing, European Wealth Management and QIB UK.

3rd term of office, appointment as Chair of Court expires 31.8.2020.

Kumar Jacob MBE

Chief Executive Officer of a private Social Purpose Company (Mindwave Ventures Limited)  which explores develops and implements solutions in healthcare using digital technology.  Managing Director of KJx, a management consultancy company specialising in project management.      

1st term of appointment, expires 31.8.2019

Diane Khanna

Headteacher, Welling School and Ofsted Inspector.  

2nd term of appointment, expires 31.8.2019

Tricia King

Vice-President, Global Engagement, Council for Advancement and Support of Education.  Previously Pro-Vice Master, Strategic Engagement at Birkbeck University of London between 2007-2015.

1st term of appointment, expires 31.8.2019

Denise Larnder

Audit Partner in the Financial Services Practice at Ernst & Young.  Independent Audit Committee Member of the Royal Museums Greenwich. 

1st term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2019

Craig McWilliam

Chief Executive Officer, Grosvenor, Britain & Ireland (privately owned global property business).

1st term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2020

Murray Orr

Vice Chairman, EMEA M&A, JP  Morgan.

1st term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2019

Julie Wood

Director and Leader of the specialist Programme and Project Management Group, Arup (an independent firm offering a range of services in the built environment.. 

1st term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2020

Helen Wyatt

Chief Human Resources Officer, COFRA Holding AG (a conglomerate of  retail and real estate, corporate and private equity investment management companies) headquartered in Zug, Switzerland. Formerly Corporate Vice-President, HR and Communications, Firmenich headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.

3rd term of office, appointment expires 31.8.2018.

Staff Members (3)

The appointment process is currently under way.



Professor David Maguire

Vice-Chancellor, University of Greenwich (ex-officio).

Student Member

Meike Imberg

President, Students' Union, University of Greenwich.

1st term of office – Elected as President, Students' Union. Appointment as student representative expires 31.6.2018.